Join Us

HistoryHit.TV is a new kind of global history channel bringing you great history documentaries and original seasons. Sign up now for all the latest information and launch details.

Take Me to HistoryHit.TV

By History Hit

The 30th July 1966 was the date of England’s finest moment as a sporting nation. The hosts and winners of the 8th FIFA World Cup, England’s iconic team of the Charlton brothers, Jimmy Greaves and Bobby Moore swept all before them. There was plenty more going on as well, however, with a lost trophy, an African boycott and the emergence of Portugal’s black superstar Eusebio also making the headlines.

After England was granted the next World Cup in Rome in 1960, the preparations were inevitably overshadowed by politics. This was nothing new, already the 1942 and 1946 incarnations had been cancelled by the more pressing issue of World War 2, and the 1938 tournament had featured a Germany side full of stolen Austrian players after Hitler’s takeover of that country earlier that year. This time, the issue was Africa. In an era of decolonization – some violent – the emergent African countries were arrayed in protest against the inclusion of apartheid-era South Africa in FIFA qualifications, despite being banned from football on the African continent. As a result of this, and qualification rules that did not garuantee an African team a place in the competition – most of Africa’s developing football nations boycotted the tournament, though their pressure did lead to a belated ban on South African participation in 1964. The trials of the organisers did not end there, however. As was customary, the famous Jules Rimet trophy was on display in England in anticipation of the tournament, but on the 20th March its custodians found it to have disappeared, and the next day received a phone call demanding an extortionate sum of money for its return. This dragged on for weeks, and the English Football Association agreed to have a replica made for the presentation on the 30th July, before an unlikely saviour was found in the form of a dog called Pickles, who sniffed out the cup that Bobby Moore would lift from under some bushes in London. Pickles then enjoyed brief fame as a national celebrity.

Pickles the dog enjoys the limelight after finding the World Cup Trophy

Apart from all this, the tournament itself had to be organised, with 16 teams reaching the finals, including England, Italy, newcomers Portugal, Brazil, the Soviet Union and West Germany. The draw was made in January, and the hosts were placed in a tough group with Uruguay, France and Mexico, and played all their group games at the famous Wembley Stadium in London. Under pressure from a rapturously expectant home crowd, England got off to a disappointing start by failing to beat Uruguay in the opening game, but two 2-0 victories then saw them safely through to the quarter finals. Group 2, meanwhile, was a fairly straightforward affair, with fancied teams West Germany and Argentina going through, but Groups 3 and 4 – which contained newcomers Portugal and North Korea, were more interesting. The Portuguese made an instant impact in defeating two-time champions Brazil 3-1, and had their legendary striker Eusebio to thank for two of their group stage goals. Born in the Portuguese colony of Mozambique, the man nicknamed the “black panther” would end the tournament as its top scorer and end his career with an astonishing 749 goals in 745 matches. In Group 4, the North Koreans – who weren’t even recognised as a country by the west during the Cold War, pulled off an even bigger shock by defeating Italy and qualifying at their expense alongside the Soviet Union.

The next stage was also full of incident. In England’s match against Argentina, the Argentine Antonio Rattín was sent off but refused to leave the pitch, resulting in a squad of policemen having to drag him away. This decision, and England’s narrow 1-0 margin of victory, means that the match is still known as the “robbery of the century” in Argentina. The Germans, meanwhile, also benefited from some questionable refereeing decisions as they beat 9-man Uruguay 4-0, and one of the best matches in World Cup history saw the Portuguese progress. The unfancied North Koreans had raced into a 3-0 lead, only for Portugal to come back to win 5-3, with Eusebio scoring four of the goals in an immense solo performance. In the other game, the Soviet Union triumphed over Hungary to set up two semi-finals between four European powers. England’s subsequent match against Portugal was a narrow 2-1 win, with Bobby Charlton scoring twice to trump Eusebio’s penalty, while the Germans beat the Soviets due a Franz Beckenbauer strike to set up a tasty final against England, a country that most people of their population remembered invading and occupying their broken nation at the end of World War 2.

Eusebio scored his ninth goal of the to win Portugal third place in their playoff match against the USSR

The final on the 30th July was probably the best ever in a World Cup. The Germans opened the scoring in an entertaining match after just 12 minutes, only for England’s replacement striker Geoff Hurst (first choice Jimmy Greaves was injured) to equalise just four minutes later. Midfielder Martin Peters then sent the 98,000-strong crowd into raptures with another goal with twelve minutes to play. England held out, hoping to grind out the momentous win until the very last minute of the game, when a German free kick was lashed into the net by the centre-back Wolfgang Weber. With the scores now level, the match went to an extra half hour of extra time. Eight minutes later Hurst scored again after lashing the ball against the crossbar and onto the goal line. Decades before goalline technology, the referee granted the goal, which incensed the Germans and remains contentious to this day. The Germans then pushed back, but as the 120th minute approached, delirious fans began to encroach onto the pitch, causing the BBC commentator Kenneth Wolstenholme to comment “they think it’s all over” just as Hurst scored one more goal to put the result beyond doubt. Wolstenholme then finished his own sentence in one of the most famous lines in football history “…it is now.” England’s inspirational captain Bobby Moore was then awarded the trophy by Queen Elizabeth II, and it remains their only World Cup win to date.

The iconic image of Bobby Moore lifting the trophy

Our Apps

Tank 100 with World of Tanks and The Tank Museum

Tanks 100

Somme 100 with The Royal British Legion

Somme 100

Timeline Nelson with The National Maritime Museum