About The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais
The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais is a memorial church to the French soldiers who fought in the First World War, particularly the Battle of the Somme.
The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais history
The Chapel was originally founded by the du Bos family, who lost their son in the battle on 25 September 1916 and who wanted a memorial for him and his comrades.
Over the entire summer offensive, which lasted from 1 July, 1916 up until 18 November, 1916, it is estimated that the number of French casualties stood around 200,000.
The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais today
Located in the village of Rancourt, the Chapel of the Souvenir Francais stands next to Rancourt Cemetery, which, at 28,000 square metres is France’s largest burial ground for the soldiers of the Somme. Over 8,500 soldiers are buried here, each symbolised by a simple white cross.
The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais is one of the sites along the Circuit of Remembrance, a route which explores the role this region played in the First World War, specifically between September and November 1916.
Getting to The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais
The address of The Chapel of the Souvenir Francais is 2 Route nationale, 80360 Rancourt, France. It is located roughly 50 km from the town of Amiens and 40 km from the town of Arras. There is free parking, toilets and a gift shop on site.
Discover the best Historic Sites in France from the Palace of Versailles, to Mont Saint-Michel, Nimes Arena and more, includes an interactive map of French cultural landmarks and monuments.
A comprehensive list of World War One sites, battlefields, monuments and museums, from the Somme to the Menin Gate and more, includes interactive map of WW1 sites.