About Anglesey Abbey
The historic Anglesey Abbey is a Jacobean-style mansion in Cambridgeshire, built on the site of a medieval priory. In the 20th century it became the home of Lord Fairhaven, who transformed it into the vibrant and interesting site it is today!
Anglesey Abbey history
It is believed that the site of Anglesey Abbey was first used as a monastery around 1100, and grew to become a thriving monastic settlement throughout the early Middle Ages. However, like many similar sites across England, Anglesey Priory was dissolved in 1535 during the reign of Henry VIII.
Becoming a private house, the site was modified several times over the next 400 years, including its conversion to the Jacobean-style building seen today and its renaming as Anglesey Abbey.
It was in the 1930s however that Anglesey Abbey really saw a great transition when it came into the possession of Huttleston Broughton, 1st Lord Fairhaven. A widespread program of development saw the creation of magnificent gardens as well as alterations to the house itself, inspired by his love of 18th century culture.
Upon his death, he left the house to the care of the National Trust with the instructions that it be preserved as “a complete and furnished entity so that it retains as far as possible the character of an English Home”.
Anglesey Abbey today
Today, visitors to Anglesey Abbey can explore both the beautiful gardens and the grand house – including surviving elements of the original Augustinian monastery, such as the chapter house and monk’s parlour.
The house itself boasts impressive collections of antique furnishings, sculpture and art as well as a wide collection of historic clocks, one of Lord Fairhaven’s particular passions.
The garden’s highlights include a fantastic collection of statues and sculptures and a 150 year-old working watermill, as well as a host of activities for children such as a spectacular giant tree-house!
Getting to Anglesey Abbey
Anglesey Abbey is located in the village of Lode, 6 miles northeast of Cambridge on the B1102 road. There is free parking 50 yards from the site, while the number 11 bus stops a 5-minute walk away at the Quy Road Stop. The nearest train stations are Cambridge and Newmarket, 6 miles away.