About Seehof Palace
Seehof Palace in Memmelsdorf is one of Bavaria’s most visually-stunning stately homes. With beautifully symmetrical lines, the fairytale-esque Seehof Palace in Germany was built in 1686 by Marquard Sebastian Schenk von Stauffenberg for the Bamberg Prince-Bishops, himself the Prince-Bishop from 1683 – 1693.
Seehof Palace history
The Marquard enjoyed the rural area of Memmelsdorf and therefore asked Antonio Petrini to replace a local estate with his own Baroque palace. The residence came to be known colloquially as ‘Marquardsburg’ and was finished in 1696 under the stewardship of Prince-Bishop Lothar Franz von Schoenborn.
Seehof Palace today
As striking as Seehof is from the outside, the interior is equally as arresting after a comprehensive renovation programme which has seen much of the residence reverted back to its former glory. Nine rooms are accessible including the White Hall which counts among its treasures a stunning parquet floor and a ceiling fresco by Guiseppe Appiani and visitors will also walk through the guardroom, anterooms and bedrooms on the 45-minute tour.
As well as the house, many people come to Seehof for the gardens, considered in the 18th and 19th centuries to be the most famous Rococo gardens in all of Germany. You can see the same 400 and more stone statues, gargoyles, dragons, grotesques and myriad mythical creatures that visitors saw 300 years ago (some by Ferdinand Tietz) as well as the restored water cascade, walking trails and hedge mazes.
Getting to Seehof Palace
Situated just outside the town of Memmelsdorf off the 70 and 73 motorways, Seehof Palace is easily reached either by car or public transport. From Bamberg Seehof is only a 10 minute drive or an easy bus ride on the 907 service.