About Tucher Palace
Unlike many of Bavaria’s grand palaces, the Tucher Palace, or ‘Tucherschloss’ in Nuremberg, northern Bavaria is a peculiar building and credit for that is due in part to Lorenz Tucher, a 15th century merchant who travelled the world. As well as bringing back exotic works of art such as furniture and tapestries, he brought back the ideas for the Oriental-style turrets and the small bay window – known as an oriel – that sits on an elephant-shaped base, presumably from Asia or Africa.
The palace and its beautiful gardens were built between 1533 and 1544 as a summer residence and garden palace for the Tuchers, one of Nuremburg’s prominent patrician families whose wealth was largely based on the foreign trade of ironware, spices and coal. While the Tucher Palace is now owned jointly by the Free State of Bavaria and the city of Nuremberg, the Tucher family foundation have loaned some amazing pieces to the residence including paintings by Michael Wolgemut, Hans Schäufelein and Nicolaus Neufchâtel.
Visitors can see Baroque and Renaissance-era furniture including a very rare cupboard by Peter Flötner, one of the most important German designers of the age and stunning ‘verre eglomisé’ – gilded glass – from the studio of Augustin Hirschvogel.
Commissioned by Linhard Tucher, the star of the show is the spectacular eight-piece dinner service complete with glasses and tapestries designed by none other than Wenzel Jamnitzer, the world famous German goldsmith and court goldsmith to a succession of Holy Roman Emperors.