Necropolis | History Hit https://www.historyhit.com Mon, 24 Jul 2023 15:53:56 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=7.0.2 Abusir Pyramids https://www.historyhit.com/locations/abusir-pyramids/ Thu, 27 May 2021 11:11:59 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/abusir-pyramids/ Continued]]> The Abusir Pyramids, near Cairo in Egypt, are 14 Ancient Egyptian pyramids and named for the House of Osiris: Egyptian god of death and resurrection. Built by the pharaohs of the Fifth Dynasty, including those of Sahure, Neferirkare and Nyuserre Ini and, like Saqqara’s pyramids, the Abusir Pyramids formed part of the ancient city of Memphis.

Several of the Abusir Pyramids are relatively well preserved, particularly that of Nyuserre Ini. Overall, Abusir’s pyramids are not as impressive as those in Giza, Saqqara and Dahshur, in part due to the lower quality of the construction and stones used. Nonetheless, the quieter and less tourist-targeted site of Abusir still provides visitors with a worthwhile glimpse into the ancient Egyptian world.

Abusir Pyramids history

Abusir was established during Egypt’s Old Kingdom, encompassing the period between 2700 to 2200 BC. The period saw Egypt reach its first peak of civilisation in the lower Nile Valley, marked by significant pyramid building, including those at Abusir. It was under the reign of Userkaf, first king of the dynasty, who chose to build his Solar Temple at the site.

At the time, Abusir was a royal necropolis during the Fifth Dynasty, operating out of then-capital Memphis. Gaza had been filled with prestigious dead, and so the pharaohs of the early 25th until the mid 24th centuries needed somewhere new to build their fantastic funerary monuments.

The major pyramids at Abusir were step pyramids – rising in stacked platforms with a single large staircase to climb to the top. The Pyramid of Neferirkare is believed to have originally been such a pyramid, but was later filled in to resemble those at Gaza. Additionally, the materials used to construct the monuments at Abusir were of poorer quality to their earlier counterparts, signalling a decrease of royal power or a declining economy.

Abusir remained an important funerary site until the end of the pharaonic times and was excavated in the late 19th century. Their finds included the Abusir Papyri, found in 1893, constituting the largest collection of Old Kingdom papyrus. The papyri documented how the mortuary temples were run, including lists of daily offerings and even a work rota for priests.

Abusir Pyramids today

Today, the ancient pyramids are still visible as towering mounds of bricks in the rough shapes of triangular prisms that touch the sky. Visitors can walk amongst the large rubble making out columns and patterns carved into the rock.

However, the Abusir Pyramids are undoubtedly a shadow of their formerly grand selves, once great funerary monuments to Egypt’s elite members of society. For this reason, be aware the site is not always included in tour itineraries, although this just lends to the peace and lack of crowding at Abusir.

Getting to the Abusir Pyramids

There are currently no public transport services running to the Abusir Pyramids so the easiest way to get their is via hired car or with a guide/driver. From Cairo, the Abusir Pyramids are a 40 minute drive via the ring road and route 75M.

]]>
Aizanoi https://www.historyhit.com/locations/aizanoi/ Wed, 07 Apr 2021 11:10:45 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/aizanoi/ Continued]]> Aizanoi is a Turkish archaeological site housing mostly Roman remains from this ancient city’s peak in the second and third centuries AD.

Amongst its ruins, Aizanoi has five ancient and still used bridges, two Turkish-style baths, column-lined promenades, a stadium, a gymnasium, a theatre and its great Temple of Zeus.

History of Aizanoi

Aizanoi was an Ancient Greek city in western Anatolia. Located astride the River Penkalas, some 1000m above sea level, the city was an important political and economic centre in Roman times.

Settlement in the area is known from the Bronze Age. It changed hands between the Kingdoms of Pergamum and Bithynia, finally being bequeathed to Rome in 133 BC. Aizanoi’s monumental buildings date from the early Empire to the 3rd century.

Aizanoi became a Christian bishopric, with its bishop, Pisticus, being a participant at the First Countil of Nicaea in 325. The former city is no longer a bishopric, and is today listed by the Catholic Church as a titular see.

After the 7th century, Aizanoi fell into decline. Later, during Seljuk times, the temple hill was repurposed as a citadel.

The ruins of the city were discovered in 1824 by European travellers. Survey work in the 1830s and 40s was followed by thorough and systematic excavation conducted by the German Archaeological Institute from 1926.

This excavation was resumed in 1970, and is still ongoing, with archaeologists in January 2021 announcing that they have discovered a cache of 2,100-year-old Roman coins in a jug buried near a stream.

In 2012, the site was submitted for inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Aizanoi Today

Today, visitors can see the Temple of Zeus, which is situated prominently on a hill and was the city’s main sanctuary. Construction of the temple began under Emperor Domitian.

A theatre and stadium are built adjacent to each other, with their being combined into one complex being a feature that is unique in the ancient world.

There are also two baths – or ‘thermae’ – one which includes a palaestra and marble furnishings, and the other which contains a mosaic depicting a satyr and a maenad.

The remains of Aizanoi’s market, which features a circular macellum, is famed for being the first recorded place in the world where inflation was calculated. Recent excavations have also revealed the existence of a stoa, or covered walkway, and a large necropolis includes examples of door-shaped Phrygian tombstones.

In 2012 the site was submitted for inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Getting to Aizanoi

Though Aizanoi is well off the tourist beaten track, locals are friendly and happy to guide interested travellers round all of the historic sites of the historic site.

From the nearby city of Kutahya, Aizanoi is reachable in around 45 minutes by car along the Kütahya Uşak Yolu/D240.

Driving from Istanbul to Kutahya takes around 4 hours and 15 minutes, primarily along the Bursa Eskişehir Yolu/D200/E90.

]]>
Basilica Vega del Mar https://www.historyhit.com/locations/basilica-vega-del-mar/ Wed, 31 Mar 2021 11:22:25 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/basilica-vega-del-mar/ Continued]]> The Basilica Vega del Mar was a Paleo-Christian Basilica in Marbella with a history dating back to the fourth century AD. Now in ruins, only the outline of Basilica Vega del Mar can be seen, surrounded by almost two hundred graves of various periods. It is also sometimes referred to as the Moorish cemetery.

History of Basilica Vega del Mar

The site was discovered in the early 20th century when eucalyptus was being planted as part of a general reforestation project, and evidence of a structure and human remains were discovered. The first excavation was thus authorised in 1916.

The Basilica Vega del Mar was a Paleo-Christian church and necropolis. The area was formerly known as Vega del Mar, and is now known as Linda Vista. The site contains the expansive and unusual remains of the Basilica, including its foundations and the evidence of a burial site.

The items discovered were deemed so significant that they are now exhibited at the National Museum of Archaeology in Madrid.

The original church on the site was built in the mid-fourth century, and is thought to have been destroyed in a Mediterranean earthquake in 365 AD. The ruins visible today are from a church that was built in the year 572 AD during the Byzantine tenure of the coast from 552 AD, until it was reconquered by the Visigoths in 621 AD.

The site was first used as a necropolis by Romans under Constantine. Almost 200 different tombs – mainly constructed in brick, with some lined in marble – were discovered, making it one of the largest Roman burial sites in Spain.

A tombstone in the colour ‘Constantine Crimson’ after Emperor Constantine is arguably the oldest tombstone found anywhere in Spain, demonstrating the site’s significance in Spanish history.

Basilica Vega del Mar Today

In the mid-2000s, the site was extensively renovated with elevated wooden walkways, a permanent fence around the perimeter, and information boards. Today, visitors can view the rectangular plan of the building that once stood at the site, as well as three napes and other key features such as a large fish-shaped baptismal font.

Getting to Basilica Vega del Mar

The site is a 20-25 minute drive from the centre of Marbella, primarily along the A-7 road. It is also reachable in an hour on the L-79, L-78, Avanza L-313, and Avanza L-525 buses which depart regularly. For those who fancy a scenic hike, it’s a 2 and a half hour walk from Marbella along its beautiful coastline.

 

]]>
Chiesa di San Lucifero https://www.historyhit.com/locations/chiesa-di-san-lucifero/ Thu, 25 Mar 2021 12:22:34 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/chiesa-di-san-lucifero/ Continued]]> The Chiesa di San Lucifero, or Church of Saint Lucifer, is a 17th century Baroque church and former temple located in Cagliari, Sardinia.

Chiesa di San Lucifero history

In the early Christian period, the site of Chiesa di San Lucifero was used as a necropolis. Therefore, throughout the early 17th century the area was subject to continuous excavations searching for the martyrs who were believed buried there. At the time, the two archbishops of Cagliari and Sassari both claimed the title of Primate of Sardinia and Corsica. The expectation placed on the excavations at San Lucifero was therefore to determine the greater prestige of one site over another by counting the number of “holy bodies” found.

While the human remains were found on the site of San Saturnino Cathedral, among the relics were some attributed to San Lucifer, which were moved to the basilica’s crypt. Lucifer of Cagliari was bishop of Cagliari in the 4th century and defender of Christian orthodoxy against the Roman Emperor, Constantinous III.

The Chiesa di San Lucifero was itself built in the Mannerist style between 1646 and 1682, funded by the Municipality of Cagliari. Its design echoed the city’s cathedral, with a similar Latin cross shape and high dome.

Chiesa di San Lucifero and the adjoining convent and college was later occupied by Dominican friars, before passing to the Trinitarians who remained there until 1803. Throughout the 19th century Chiesa di San Lucifero was used as a hospice and orphanage, was abandoned and later became a branch of the San Giacomo collegiate church. The first parish priest was Don Mose Farci, directing the community until 1957.

Chiesa di San Lucifero today

If you find yourself in the Villanova district of Cagliari, be sure to take a detour to admire Chiesa di San Lucifero, located a short walk from the Basilica of San Saturnino. From the sunny outside, you can admire the church’s facade, depicting the city’s coat of arms and the canine symbol of the Domenican order.

Inside offers three chapels and the single nave, decorated with an imposing Baroque gilded altar that contains a statue of the Virgin by Guiseppe Antonio Lonis, Sardinia’s most prominent 18th century artist and sculptor.

Getting to Chiesa di San Lucifero

When using public transport around Cagliari, buses 6, 29, 30 or 31 will take you to stop Dante (ang. via San Lucifero), a 250m walk from the Chiesa di San Lucifero. The nearest place to park is a 5 minute walk away on the Via Grazia Deledda.

]]>
Christian Necropolis of Pecs https://www.historyhit.com/locations/christian-necropolis-of-pecs/ Thu, 29 Jul 2021 14:25:28 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/christian-necropolis-of-pecs/ Continued]]> The Christian Necropolis of Pecs is a fourth century Roman mausoleum in Hungary, the ruins of which are UNESCO listed.

History of Christian Necropolis of Pecs

Built over 1,600 years ago, the early Christian Necropolis of Pecs provides a remarkable example of late Roman burial practices and funerary cult. The sepulchres are regarded as the largest single Christian tomb complex outside Italy.

Sopianae, the Roman settlement upon which the town of Pecs was built, was founded in the early 2nd century. In 100 years, it would grow into a thriving city and a significant centre of Christianity.

The first burial chamber at the site – known as The Peter and Paul Tomb – was discovered in 1782, and is regarded as the best-known early Christian structure in Pannonia, the Roman province in today’s western Hungary. The early Christian Mausoleum, which dates to around 370AD, was discovered in 1975 and was the largest building in the Roman town of Sopianae.

Christian Necropolis of Pecs Today

A remnant of what was the Roman town of Sopianae, one aspect which makes the Christian Necropolis of Pecs special is its unique architecture. The site is made up two levels, with subterranean tombs and above-ground chapels. The visitor centre includes the Mausoleum, six two-storey burial chambers, and two larger, single-space buildings.

Visitors to the Christian Necropolis of Pecs can see their remains as well as several fascinating funerial murals.

Getting to Christian Necropolis of Pecs

From the centre of the historic city of Pecs, the Necropolis is a 6 minute drive via the Rákóczi út road. There are a number of buses which stop at Cella Septichora, after which the site is a minute’s walk.

]]>
Les Alyscamps – Arles https://www.historyhit.com/locations/les-alyscamps-arles/ Fri, 09 Jul 2021 11:11:44 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/les-alyscamps-arles/ Continued]]> Les Alyscamps in the town of Arles in Provence, France, is a site imbued with historical and religious importance which was once one of the most famous necropolises of the ancient world. Originally an Ancient Roman necropolis where prominent figures were laid to rest, most of the thousands of strewn sarcophagi which crowd together in Les Alyscamps actually date back to medieval times.

Today, Les Alyscamps is also part of the UNESCO World Heritage listing of Arles open to visit.

Les Alyscamps – Arles history

From the 4th to the 12th century, Les Alyscamps became a prestigious Christian burial ground, with several bishops having been buried there as well as Saint Genesius – a Roman civil servant beheaded in 303 AD for refusing to persecute Christians. The Alyschamps was along the final segment of the Aurelian Way leading to the city gates, and would have shown-off the sarcophagi and elaborate monuments of wealthy citizens.

The 11th century saw the construction of St. Honorat Priory by Les Alyscamps, as a result of which it became a part of the famous Santiago de Compostela route. This was a Christian pilgrimage to the church of Santiago de Compostela in Spain which travelled through France.

Les Alyscamps – Arles today

Today, visitors can walk through the tree-lined site to see its many tombs and gravestones, most of which are in a fairly poor state, but which together form a hauntingly pretty sight. Surrounding a 12th century medieval church, the necropolis has an undoubtable historical atmosphere, lending itself to be the subject of one of Van Gogh’s paintings.

To see the better preserved of these tombs, go to Arles Archaeological Museum.

Getting to Les Alyschamps – Arles

Not far on foot from the city centre, Les Alychamps is also only a 20 minute walk from Gare d’Arles train station with links to Marseille Saint-Charles and Avignon Centre. Otherwise for those driving, the necropolis is located just off the D570N and N113 through Arles, and is a 50 minute drive to Avignon.

]]>
Necropolis of Cerveteri https://www.historyhit.com/locations/necropolis-of-cerveteri/ Thu, 22 Jul 2021 13:50:13 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/necropolis-of-cerveteri/ Continued]]> The Etruscans, whose origins to this day are subject to intense debate, inhabited what is now northern Lazio through to Tuscany from the 9th century BC. Over the centuries, they constructed a magnificent necropolis which formed part of the earliest urban civilization in the northern Mediterranean. Today, the necropolis is located in Cerveteri, a town of northern Lazio in the region of Rome.

History of Necropolis of Cerveteri

A UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2004, the Necropolis of Cerveteri has been described as ‘masterpieces of creative genius’ in part due to its town planning. There are New York-style blocked streets, residential neighbourhoods and piazzas, the same as you’d find in an ancient city. Of the site’s 1,000 acres, only 25 are accessible. Inside the 25 acres are two roads that are almost 3,000 years old – the Via dei Monti Ceriti, and the Via dei Monti della Tolfa.

The most recent tombs are from the third century BC. On top of different types of standard tombs – which are seemingly dependent on time period, wealth, and societal status – visitors can enjoy the stunning, intricately detailed wall paintings and a number of well-known tombs. These tombs include the Tomb of the Greek Vases, the Tomb of the Cornice, the Tomb of the Capitelli, and the most famous of all, the Tomb of Reliefs, which is painted with red pillows, domestic utensils, and animals, and is said to be the most accurate representation of what Etruscan life was life in the 4th and 3rd centuries BC.

The aristocratic families that were interred in the necropolis left behind tableware, precious metals, illustrated vases, bronzes, weapons, belts, razors, jewellery, and belt buckles, meaning that their final resting places were eerily similar to their homes.

Necropolis of Cerveteri Today

Today, visitors to this truly magnificent ancient historical site can explore the necropolis as well as the National Museum of Cerveteri, which offers an insight into the Etruscans lived and died three thousand years ago.

Getting to Necropolis of Cerveteri

From the centre of Rome, the site is reachable in an hour by car via the A12/E80 roads. By train, from Roma Termini take any train in direction of Pisa or Grosseto or Civitavecchia and get off at Marina di Cerveteri. By bus, from the town of Cerveteri take any domestic line running to Necropolis. Check out detailed timetables visiting the web site of Comune di Cerveteri.

 

 

]]>
Necropolis of Pantalica https://www.historyhit.com/locations/necropolis-of-pantalica/ Wed, 07 Apr 2021 11:22:13 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/locations/necropolis-of-pantalica/ Continued]]> The Necropolis of Pantalica in southeast Sicily contains around 4,000 ancient rock chamber tombs dated to between the 13th and 7th centuries BC. Visitors to the Necropolis of Pantalica can also see the remaining foundations of the Anaktoron or “Prince’s Palace”, dating back to the megalithic era. Together with the Syracuse Archaeological Site, the Necropolis of Pantalica is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Necropolis of Pantalica history

During the Iron Age, people from Italy came to settle on the island of Sicily, predominantly in the hilly coastal area which was easily defendable. Pantalica flourished for around 600 years lasting between 1250 to 650 BC, and was one of the main sites of eastern Sicily until Greek colonisation from 768 BC.

However, by 650, Pantalica declined with the expansion of the city of Syracuse. Nevertheless, the area was still inhabited during the Hellenistic period of the 4th and 3rd centuries BC, during which time the site was part of Ancient Syracuse, founded by Greeks from Corinth.

At the time, Syracuse was described as the “greatest Greek city” by Roman historian Cicero. It was under the Byzantines that some of the tombs were re-purposed as dwellings, and the then-magnificent Anaktoron ‘Princes Palace’ was built on top of the hill, thought to be inspired by the Greek palaces and their defensive designs.

The site of the Necropolis of Pantalica was excavated between 1895 and 1910 by Italian archaeologist Paolo Orsi, although many of the tombs had been looted by this point. Orsi’s finds were sent to the Archaeological Museum in Syracuse, and included re-burnished pottery vessels and metal objects, including weaponry such as small knives and daggers, and bronze brooches and rings.

Most of the tombs contained between 1 and 7 people of all ages and sexes, and were opened for more burials. From the tombs, the population of the prehistoric settlement was thought to be around 1000 people.

Necropolis of Pantalica today

Today, hiking in the beautiful Anapo River Valley, you come across steep rocky cliff sides dotted with thousands of tombs cut into the rocks. Without charge, you can visit this remote area, feeling the immense age of the necropolis by entering the tombs, before taking a dip in some of the pools or the clear cool stream. A short walk from the necropolis, you can view artefacts found in the tombs at the Museum in Syracusa.

Getting to the Necropolis of Pantalica

If driving, beware the windy and rocky roads and note you must also walk to the site from the nearby road. It takes 12 minutes to drive from nearby town Sortino. From Syracuse, the necropolis is a 45 minute drive via the SS114.

]]>
Puig des Molins Museum-Necropolis https://www.historyhit.com/locations/puig-des-molins-museum-necropolis/ Mon, 24 Jul 2023 15:51:51 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/?post_type=sites&p=5201450 Continued]]> Puig des Molins is one of the largest and best-preserved necropolises in the Mediterranean area – and indeed the world. There are almost 3,000 burial tombs across 5 hectares, with some graves dating back to 7th century BC where thousands of ancient Ibizan residents were buried or cremated.

Boasting the world’s finest collection of Punic remains, the necropolis is one of the sites that led to Ibiza’s Old Town World Heritage status. Along with its accompanying museum, it’s a must see.

History of Puig des Molins

Ibiza, known as Ebysos in ancient Phoenician times, has a rich history as an important Mediterranean harbour. Over the centuries, it has been inhabited by various civilisations, attracting people from different nations and cultures.

Puig des Molins, located 500 metres west of Puig de Vila, has served as the city’s cemetery since its foundation. It was used for burials from the 7th century BC until around 700 AD and contains the remains of Phoenicians, Punics and Romans. The area was later utilised for agriculture, with olive, almond, carob and fig trees planted on the hillside. Windmills were also constructed there from the 15th century onwards, giving the site its name (‘Molins’). Today, only two of the windmills remain visible, and the hillside is part of the Archaeological Museum of Ibiza and Formentera.

Despite the seemingly unimpressive appearance of the rocky hillside, the Necropolis holds around 3,000 tombs at the site solely from the Punic era. However, only 340 are visible from the outside, carved out of rock. (The ‘Mule Hypogea’ tombs, unearthed by accident in 1946, are the only ones open to visitors).

The museum:

After King Alfonso XIII’s visit to Ibiza in 1929, the Puig des Molins necropolis was declared a Historic and Artistic Monument under the Republic on 3 June 1931. Plans were made to construct a new museum building (The Puig des Molins’ Monographic Museum) to house the important archaeological artefacts that were previously crammed in the Dalt Vila building, the archaeological museum headquarters since 1907. However, due to disruptions caused by the Spanish Civil War and World War Two, construction wasn’t completed until 1965.

It soon became evident that the new building didn’t have the necessary capacity. As a result, the Dalt Vila’s museum remained a general museum, while the new building became dedicated solely to the Puig des Molins necropolis, opening in 1966.

Over the years the museum building has been restored and expanded, with the aim of offering visitors an immersive experience into the mindsets of the people who inhabited ancient Ibiza, particularly in their understanding of death. The graves and artefacts excavated from the necropolis and displayed in the museum have provided valuable insights into how various civilisations prepared, buried and honoured their dead, leading the site to be designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1999.

Puig des Molins today

Visitors to the necropolis may find it hard to grasp the vast size of the cemetery, yet have the opportunity to view some excavated areas, burial pits, caverns and tombs. Descending into the underground caves, visitors can explore funeral chambers, stone coffins and sarcophagi.

Whilst only a few of the tombs are open to the public, the accompanying museum provides a comprehensive understanding of the site. The museum is divided into 5 rooms, arranged chronologically from the Phoenician era in 625 BC, through the Punics, to Roman burials (up to 700 AD). Information sheets describe the burial rites of each civilisation, and the rooms showcase a remarkable collection of artefacts discovered in the graves since the first excavations in 1903. These include amulets, jewellery, semi-precious stones, terracotta figures, coins, pottery, statues, glass vials and oil burning lamps.

The final room displays the personal collection of Rafael Sainz de la Cuesta, an archaeology enthusiast from Madrid, who collected historical pieces from various locations on the island during his visits to Ibiza. After his death, his family donated the collection to the state.

Getting to Puig des Molins

Puig des Molins is located just outside Ibiza’s Old Town, at Calle Vía Romana 31, 07800  Eivissa. Entry to the museum costs 2.40 Euros; it is open for several hours each day except on Monday’s and bank holidays, while the cemetery remains open all times.

]]>
Radimlja Necropolis https://www.historyhit.com/locations/radimlja-necropolis/ Wed, 08 Sep 2021 11:51:40 +0000 https://www.historyhit.com/?post_type=sites&p=5164841 Continued]]> Radimlja Necropolis is an important medieval monument in Bosnia and Herzegovina, which features large tombstones known as stećci.

History of Radimlja Necropolis

Radimlja’s impressive stećak necropolis dates to the 15th and 16th centuries. It features monumental tombstones carved with detailed portraits of the deceased as well as visual motifs depicting hunting scenes and grapevines. Five of these stećak tombstones likely mark the graves of members of an important Vlach (Balkan Romance-speaking) family.

Most of the tombstones at Radimlja Necropolis date from the 1480s to the 16th century. The creation of the necropolis coincides with the rise of the noble family of Miloradović-Stjepanović. During this period, the location was known as Batnoge.

The necropolis includes 133 stećci which conform to nine types. They include large slabs, chests, sarcophagi, cruciform, and variants featuring pedestals. Over a dozen were destroyed when the Čapljina-Stolac road was built through the necropolis during the Austro-Hungarian period, in 1882.

The chests and sarcophagi with pedestals are the most finely decorated tombstones at Radimlja Necropolis and were probably reserved for the social elite. The location had been used as a burial site before the necropolis was built in the 14th century. Nearby, there are several burial mounds attributed to Illyrian tribes who inhabited the western Balkans.

Radimlja Necropolis today

The Radimlja Necropolis is open most of the day during the week, with shorter hours on Saturday. Children can access the necropolis for free while adults must pay 4KM (convertible mark) each. Given its location close to the main tourist road, it’s a great place to pause for a meditation on the medieval Balkans.

Getting to Radimlja Necropolis

Radimlja Necropolis is located 3 km west of Stolac, a southern town located on a tourist road which connects Sarajevo to Dubrovnik. It’s a straightforward journey if you are nearby Stolac (3 km) or Mostar (33 km). The Radimlja Necropolis is sometimes included in tours of the region.

]]>