About Verla Groundwood and Board Mill
The Verla Groundwood and Board Mill (Eilinen elaa Verlassa) is an excellent example of the industrial landscape of Finland’s Kymi river valley in the 19th century. In fact, the site has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1996 – a testament to its remarkable state of preservation, rarity and historical importance – which has gained it a spot as one of our top 10 Finnish tourist attractions.
Verla Groundwood and Board Mill history
Whilst the first groundwood mill was established in Verla in 1872, the surviving Verla Groundwood and Board Mill dates to 1882, the previous one having been destroyed by a fire. Founded by Gottlieb Kreidl and Louis Haenel, this mill would continue to operate until 18 July 1964 when it was closed down upon the death of its long-time owner.
Later, the historical paper mill would be converted into a museum of board mill technology, with the machines preserved for the public to explore.
Verla Groundwood and Board Mill today
Open everyday between 10am and 6pm, today visitors to the Verla Groundwood and Board Mill can learn about its history and how it impacted the area as a whole. A guided tour around the mill follows the process from cutting timber and making pulp to drying, sorting and packing paper. These tours are done in Finnish, Swedish, English, German and Russian, but should be arranged in advance.
Separately, but on the same site, there are a set of incredible prehistoric rock paintings near the car park believed to date back to 7000 BC. There is also a beautiful Verla Forest Trail that you can hike through the woods just over the water.
Getting to Verla Groundwood and Board Mill
Located 30 kilometres from Kouvola, the Verla Groundwood and Board Mill is only a half hour scenic drive via Route 46 and exiting onto the 369 towards Verlantie.